Skip to main content

How to Do Things With Words: Articles and More: Databases

Databases

NOTE: This is only a sample of databases that might help to get you started. To find more databases, visit the A-Z list of databases and research guides. You can browse databases alphabetically or select a subject area relevant to your research topic.

FindIt

Some of our databases include full text content, but you may find some records that do not. Look for the blue FindIt at Beloit button -- clicking on this button will open a screen that informs you if we have the article in any of our other databases. You can also search in BELCAT to see if we have the article in print.

 

If you can't find your article in another database or in print, you can use the FindIt menu screen to request an interlibrary loan for the article.

Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Sources

Your professors may want you to use peer reviewed or scholarly sources. Simply put, this means that the publication has been vetted by professionals in the field (peers), so you can assume that it has been held to high academic standards.

You can search for these types of works in catalogs and database by limiting your search.

Finding scholarly books can be a bit different than articles. If you're wandering whether a book is scholarly, try to answer the following questions:

  • Who is the publisher? Is it published by a university press?
  • Who is the author? Are they a college professor? Can you find their resume?
  • Does the work cite other scholarly sources?

When assessing websites, try to answer the following in addition to those listed above:

  • Is there evidence of bias? Does the site seem to have an agenda?
  • What is the domain name? Is it .edu? If so, it may be a credible resource.

If you're still not sure, ask your professor or a librarian!