History

A general resource for African research for students at the high-school level or higher. Consists of 450 alphabetically arranged entries covering countries, regions, geographic features, cultural groups, personalities, and general subjects such as body adornment and clothing, oral tradition, and writing systems. Includes timelines, definitions and quick-reference fact boxes.

The Colonial America Reference Library provides students with the comprehensive information on the Colonial American period they need to write reports and class assignments including biographical profiles and primary source documents.

Provides a concise history of the U.S. government and political scene throughout American history, with a particular emphasis on how government and politics effects, and is affected by, social change.

Provides historical information on the battlefield and homefront experience and the political, economic, social, and cultural life of the North and South during the War. Primary source documents in the form of first-person accounts, letters, diaries, journals, newspapers, and literature bring to life the experiences of the Union and Confederate participants and the people they left behind.

Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.

Contains over eight hundred alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about topics related to the historical development and global influence of Southeast Asia, covering politics, war, religion, socioeconomics, ethnohistory, geography, and folklore.

A five-volume survey of European history from the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War. Alphabetically arranged entries cover the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare. For students, scholars, and general readers.

A multi-volume survey of European history from the beginning of World War I in 1914 to the present, presented through alphabetically arranged entries that focus on the period's scientific, social and cultural history as well as the political, military and economic developments. For students and general readers.

A six-volume survey of European history from 1450, the beginning of the print revolution, to 1789 and the French Revolution. Presents over 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries covering the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare. For students, scholars, and general readers.

This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health.

From geology and biology to cinema and the theatre, this ambitious thematic encyclopedia, unique in scope and style, provides a much needed one-volume account of all aspects of Latin America and the Caribbean. Written by some fifty recognised experts in clear and accessible language for the general reader and copiously illustrated with full colour photographs, it discusses general themes as well as the individual countries in their own right