LibGuides: Introduction to Collections Management: Citing Sources & Writing Annotated Bibliographies

Citation Formats

Chicago/Turabian - (Purdue Online Writing Lab)

Chicago Manual of Style - (University of Wisconsin Writing Center)

MLA Formatting and Style Guide - (Purdue Online Writing Lab)

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Reference Z253 .U69 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Call Number: Reference 808.02 G35m 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Writing Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief description (usually between 150-200 words) of the reading and an evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the source. Annotations differ from simple abstracts. Abstracts are purely descriptive summaries. Annotations are descriptive and critical. In addition to summarizing content, they also address the author’s perspective and/or purpose, and the appropriateness of information and the interpretations. Because you are not experts in the areas you will be researching, you will not be expected to critically evaluate your articles. However, you must summarize the content of the article and make clear how the reference relates to your object study.

Zotero

Zotero is a tool that allows you to save citations you find while browsing the web or library databases. It organizes and stores them for you. A Word and Google Docs plug in will even generate citations directly into your research paper. You can utilize these tools by downloading the plug-in for Firefox, Chrome, or Safari and Zotero Desktop.

Paper Machines is a plug-in for Zotero which allows you to visualize the data held within your profile using word clouds, topic modeling, phrase nets and geoparsing.