10. Cool Spaces
You can do more than just check out books at the library! We’ve got comfy seating, an activity table, and whiteboards itching for something to display. There are also a variety of spaces for collaboration and study available around the Powerhouse.
9. Powerhouse
While you're at the library, you can check out some of the Powerhouse's spaces and services! Grab a study snack at Hamilton's, take a break and participate in a group fitness class or play an arcade game, or stop by Currents Spirit Store to purchase some Beloit swag!
8. Fun Stuff
Take a quick study break and check out our Activity Table. From puzzles and games to arts and crafts, there’s always something fun happening at the activity table. While you’re in the building, keep an eye out for interactive displays, activities (like button making and sticker murals!), and fun events like Night Against Procrastination and Game Night! We’re even known to bring in special, yummy treats like candy, hot chocolate, coffee, and cookies to hand out to keep morale high during marathon study sessions.
7. Social Media
Are you ready for us to guess your favorite campus study spot? Or, maybe you’re looking for more from your favorite spot on campus. Look no further! The library has a super engaged social media presence - you can like, follow, and subscribe to us on Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube to see our fun content!
6. Archives
One of the hidden gems of Beloit College & Morse Library is our beloved archives! With a collection that spans from 1493 to the present day and includes rare books, historical documents, student scrapbooks, college publications, photos, and other memorabilia, you’re sure to learn a lot about Beloit!
5. Collection
Our library has so much to offer you! With a robust print and digital collection (containing close to a million items!), 200+ online databases for research and knowledge expansion, and even a growing game collection - we’re your one-stop-shop for brain food!
4. Interlibrary Loan
Our collection is robust, but sometimes you may need to access a text that we don’t own. Don’t fret! Use our Interlibrary Loan Service. When you request an article or a book using ILL, another library sends us the item and we can check it out to you. Sounds too good to be true, right? Well, it gets better. This service is fast and (in most cases) provided at no cost to you!
3. Technology
Thanks to our IT crew, we’ve got top-notch technology waiting for you to checkout! We have everything from cameras, microphones, Chromebooks, and tripods available at the Info Desk. You’ll be ready to make the next blockbuster film in no time! (P.S. The library is ready for its closeup!) We can also help get you the right software you need to do the job. Check out our available software here.
Need some help getting started with the equipment? You can access our IT Knowledgebase for tech documentation here or contact IT Support at support@beloit.edu.
2. Academic Support
Do you need some extra academic support? Not to worry! Our librarians are here to help you with your research projects, finding library materials, brainstorming project ideas, and more! You can set up a research appointment with a librarian here, email them at libref@beloit.edu, or contact them through our Ask a Librarian chat service. After hours? Check out our Library Knowledgebase to see if your question has already been answered.
1. Staff
The BEST thing about our library though? The people inside! From the front desk staff, to our librarians, to the people in ILL & collections, our office manager, CIO, tech support staff and LITS manager, the library is full of people ready to help you with your newest scholarly endeavor, hardest tech problem, or even help you get the guidance you need during a tough time. We love our students!