HIST 150: Enslavement and Abolition

This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920.

Contains the raw data and documents on a number of topics relating to enslavement.

"This database identifies over 67,000 Africans aboard slave ships, using name, age, gender, origin, and place of embarkation."

The Avalon Project is a digital library of documents relating to law, history, and diplomacy. This collection contains statutes about the slave trade.

Freedom's Journal was the first African-American owned and operated newspaper in the US. All 103 issues have been digitized and are available on the Wisconsin Historical Society website.

Amistad contains primary and secondary sources that "document the rich history of ethnic and cultural communities in the US." This link will take you to the digital collections.

Collection of 105 library books and manuscripts containing an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, decisions, and other works. Most items date back to the 19th century.

This is an index of Congressional records pertaining to slavery. It does not have full text of the resources. The library owns most of these records and we should be able to find the text for you. If you are looking for a specific resource let me know! Send me an email at leahykm@beloit.edu

This website contains the Congressional Record. Here you can access the record back to 1873.